Baja Chicken Nachos

In honor of the Super Bowl XLVIII, this past Sunday night I decided to make my first “appetizer” (I use the word appetizer lightly because the whole pan was devoured in one sitting by two people).

I’m not really a big fan of watching sports on television… If anything I’d rather actually participate or at least watch a live game, otherwise I find it to be entirely boring. But in America the Super Bowl can be relatable to a national holiday; it almost seems wrong not to watch it.

Ironically enough, my first recipe was not found on Pinterest but on the side of a Mission Tortilla Rounds chip bag.

0fc398824d41e4a4791266d146fe387d

Baja Chicken Nachos

  • ¼ c. jalapeños, chopped
  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • ½ c. onions, chopped
  • 1 ½ c. salsa
  • 1 can of Mission cheddar cheese sauce
  • 2 c. cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1 bag of Mission Tortilla Rounds chips
  • Preheat oven to 450’ F.
  • Spread layer of Mission Tortilla Rounds on an oven-safe platter.
  • Mix cheese sauce, jalapeños and chicken together and spoon evenly onto chips.
  • Bake in oven for 3 to 5 minutes, or until hot.
  • Mix tomatoes and salsa together.
  • Spoon mixture onto the Tortilla Rounds and sprinkle with onions.

That’s it. They’re pretty simple.

For the most part I thought they were great, but if I were to make them again, I would have prepared them a bit differently. For instance, I would have left out the sprinkled half cup of chopped onions or at least used considerably less. I thought there was already plenty of onion in the salsa.
I also didn’t particularly like the cheese sauce, just because. Next time I would use shredded cheddar cheese instead.
I would have layered the ingredients differently. First the tortilla chips, then the shredded cheddar cheese. Then I would mix the salsa and shredded chicken together, put it on the cheese and top that with tomatoes and jalapeños sprinkled on top.
Finally, I would bake all the ingredients together, instead of baking the chicken and cheese and then spreading the tomato salsa on top. It created two different temperatures, and I just don’t generally like that.

On another note, the nachos must have been pretty delicious for the not so picky eater… my sweety devoured practically the whole pan!

Leave a Reply

