Guinness Shepard’s Pie

Hi everyone! I’m alive! Sorry for the extended silence… This past week was spring break, where I spent nearly all of my time traveling (I visited my grandparents in Pennsylvania & we ventured to Maryland!) and shopping. If there’s one thing I love as much as trying new recipes, it’s shopping. Especially this time of year when it’s time to rejuvenate my wardrobe for spring!

That being said, I know this is incredibly overdue but HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY! What better way to kick off a break than with a holiday, right!? Before I left for Pennsylvania, I wanted to celebrate with Chris. This was the first year he wasn’t able to be with his family during the holiday (and they take it preeetty seriously, as they are a predominantly Irish family) so I wanted to make him feel right at home. Home is where the heart is, and the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.

So I cooked him a nice Irish meal; Shepard’s pie. Upon looking for a recipe on Pinterest, I found one that looked especially appetizing.

Guinness Shepard’s Pie!

IMG_5208
Photo credit: thehungryhousewife.com

Shepard’s pie is one of my favorite comfort food meals, but to be honest, most recipes I’ve had tend to be a little on the bland side and sometimes even a little dry. This recipe was far from that.

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ pounds Organic ground beef (80/20)
  • 1 (1 lb) bag frozen mixed vegetables, thawed (or fresh if you prefer)
  • 2 packets of dry Brown Gravy Mix
  • 1 medium onion
  • Olive oil
  • 2 bottles Guinness Beer (we actually used George Killian’s Irish Red Beer)
  • 2 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 2 c. sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 pounds baking potatoes
  • ½ c. milk
  • 1 stick butter
  • Salt and pepper

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

To make Potato Filling:

  • Boil the potatoes in salted water until tender enough to poke with a fork. Drain completely and place back in pot so all of the water evaporates.
  • In a medium mixing bowl add butter and potatoes. Mash until smooth, while adding the milk for a medium consistency. Add salt and pepper.

To make Meat Filling:

  • Cook and drain ground beef. Place drained beef back in skillet and add 1 bottle of George Killian’s Irish Red. Cook until beer has almost cooked out. Add tomato paste to meat
.
  • In a medium sauce pan, prepare the brown gravy according to package directions,
 however, use beer for half the liquid called for (1 cup water, 1 cup beer)
. Pour gravy into meat mixture. Cook all together until you get a nice, thick gravy.

Vegetables:

  • In medium skillet with butter, sauté onions until soft and translucent.
 Add mixed vegetables to the onions and cook until warm throughout.

In a medium baking dish, add meat as bottom layer, add the vegetables and then add the mashed potatoes. Top with shredded cheese. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the cheese is nice and bubbly.

Sprinkle with parsley to garnish.

Photo credit: thehungryhousewife.com

The beer cooked into the meat and the gravy made it SO flavorful.

I can honestly say this is the best Shepard’s pie I’ve ever tasted! The only thing I personally would change is that I used traditional cut shredded cheese but I should have used fine cut instead. My oven is little weird sometimes just because it is soo old, and because I’m impatient I couldn’t wait for all the cheese to melt just the way I wanted it.

My version of the George Killian's Irish Red Shepard's Pie!
My version of George Killian’s Irish Red Shepard’s Pie!

I would give this meal a 9 out of 10! It was FABULOUS.

Leave a Reply

