Pan-seared Garlic Chicken & Veggie Pizza

securedownload-2

I think I speak for most everyone when I say that PIZZA IS THE BEST. I love pizza. Any kind of pizza. I could eat pizza for days and not get sick of it, especially since there are so many different things you can do with it!

This past weekend was a long weekend with the Easter holiday, and I’ll admit, I made pizza twice. (Don’t worry, I didn’t eat both the pizzas myself – I shared them with friends) and I think it was too good to not share with all of you out there in the cyber world too!

Disclaimer: For the first time ever, this is not a post about an endeavored Pinterest recipe. 

My grama makes pizza all the time and shared a veggie pizza recipe with me a few years back. It was a huge success but since I’ve kind of played with the recipe and made it my own.

This recipe is almost too simple (if that’s even possible) and easy on your pockets!


Pan-seared Garlic Chicken & Veggie Pizza

Before……
Before……

Ingredients
Garlic Chicken
2 cloves garlic, crushed and diced
1 boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 tbsp. Grapeseed oil
Basil leaves

Pizza
Olive oil
Your favorite store bought pizza dough (we used wheat dough)
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 handful of spinach
1 Roma tomato
2 bell peppers
1 ½ c. shredded Mozzarella cheese

After!
After!

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 375.
  • Grease your pizza sheet with olive oil and place dough on sheet.
  • Spread the dough until it eventually takes the shape of the pizza sheet and flip over half way through.
  • Sprinkle garlic powder over dough, followed by a layer of mozzarella cheese, spinach, tomatoes and then peppers.
  • Heat skillet to high heat.
  • Pour enough grapeseed oil into the skillet to generously coat the bottom, reduce heat and sauté garlic cloves in simmering oil.
  • Season both sides of chicken breast in basil and salt and carefully place in the skillet (use skillet cover to avoid oil splatters).
  • After about six to seven minutes, flip chicken over and cook other side for six    to seven minutes.
  • Let chicken rest for a few minutes, then dice and place on pizza.
  • Sprinkle pizza with another thin layer of cheese and bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

If you prefer different vegetables, use them! If you prefer a different kind of meat, cook it! Pizza sauce? I didn’t use it but go ahead! Pizza is so versatile you can essentially use whatever you want, however you want.

I change it up a little bit every time I make the pizza, but I’ve decided that this is my favorite yet (aside from the Wingless Buffalo Chicken Pizza from Rachel Ray that I tried awhile back)!

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

