Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

Hi all! So sorry about vanishing recently– I’ve been in the process of moving for the last couple weeks. As the semester came to a close, I packed all my belongings and moved from my dorm on campus to a little two-person apartment down the street. It’s the first time I’ve ever had a place to call my own, so you can imagine how excited I am, but I’m still getting adjusted to it all.

The kitchen is soo tiny. Just so you can get a picture: there’s just enough room to open the miniature stove door before it hits the refrigerator. And the counter space is basically non-existent. But hey, at least I have a kitchen at all, right?

I will only be in this apartment for a month before I move back to my hometown for the remainder of the summer. That said, I decided to only buy plastic dishes and silverware until I return for the year in August. I also didn’t buy a lot of groceries, because I don’t want to waste. So my creativity of what to make for meals has to be on an all time high this month! But I think I’m up for the challenge!


I really wanted pancakes this morning. I’m sure you’ve heard of the two ingredient banana, egg pancakes in various forms other places. The basis of the recipe is the same everyone – one smashed up banana and two eggs. I’ve played around with some other ingredients and came up with a combination that creates a perfect taste and texture!

To be honest, I had my doubts at first. The thought of making pancakes with only two ingredients honestly worried me. But to my surprise they turned out to be really delicious.


Banana Oatmeal Pancakes
99dc4f55bf613b4d750df39cc0450f1c

You will need:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ cup old-fashioned whole wheat oats
    –and–
  • ½ of another banana (for fresh fruit topping)

What to do:

  • Heat skillet on medium heat and add butter to coat the pan.
  • In a mixing bowl, smash banana with fork until it’s nearing liquid stage. Whisk in eggs, cinnamon, vanilla and whole wheat oats.
  • Pour ¼ cup of batter into pan. Cook low and slow, about 4-5 minutes on the first side until bottom is browned. Flip and cook 1-2 minutes on other side.
  • Top with slices of another banana and sprinkle with a pinch of cinnamon. Drizzle honey if desired.

And that’s it! Super simple. Super quick. Super yummy.

Suggested add-ins: mini chocolate chips, dried fruit, nuts, granola… Keep in mind: the riper the banana the better. And the amount of pancakes will depend on the size of each. On average it will yield 4 or 5 pancakes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

